Sgt. James Ayube II is honored and laid to rest in Salem, Ma.

Sgt. James Ayube II was killed in Afghanistan on Dec. 8th 2010 while serving as a combat medic. He was killed by a suicide bomber during a combat mission in the Kandahar Province of Afghanistan. Over 300 people gathered for the funeral of Sgt.  Ayube at the St. James Church in Salem Ma on Saturday Dec. 18th 2010. After the funeral there was a motorcade through Salem passing places that had special meaning for Sgt. Ayube. The streets were lined with community members who waved flags and gave their respects to the fallen soldier and his family. He was laid to rest at the Harmony Grove Cemetery.

Following the funeral a motorcade made it’s way past several places that had special meaning for Sgt. James Ayube II.

Thousands of people lined the streets to show their support.

A mother and son watch as the motorcade passes by in Salem, Ma.


Widow Lauren Ayube looks on as her late husband, Sgt. James Ayube II is laid to rest at Harmony Grove Cemetery.

Below: Widow Lauren Ayube leaves the cemetery after receiving a flag from the casket from an Army general in Salem, Mass.

2 thoughts on “Sgt. James Ayube II is honored and laid to rest in Salem, Ma.

  1. Ms Kaizer, My name is Lauren Ayube, I am the widow of Sgt Ayube. As the 2 year anniversary of my husband’s death looms before me, I was browsing google for images of him and the funeral (morbid, I know.) Thank you for posting these beautiful images. The people of Salem lining the streets for James was one of the brightest spots for me in those dark days. Thank you.

  2. Hello Lauren, Thank you so much for your message. I photographed this on assignment for my visual journalism class while attending the New England School of Photography. I had never photographed something like this and I wanted to take special care as I photographed this sad day. I agree that seeing the community come together was a happy moment amongst the sadness. If you’d like to email me at katiekaizer@mac.com I would be happy to send you these files directly. My heart goes out to you and your family. All the best, Katie Kaizer.

Leave a Reply

